Why is arkansas called the natural state?

Arkansas is known as "The Natural State" because of its landscape that includes forests, forested hills, mountains, lakes, streams, farms, valleys, and fertile plains. The Highlands region of Arkansas consists of the Ozark Plateau and Ouachita Mountains in the northern and western parts of the state