What type of pepper is the scotch bonnet?

A Scotch Bonnet is a bright orange, squat shaped, lumpy pepper that is also known as a Habanero. While searingly hot - measuring at 150,000 to 325,000 Scoville units, it still falls in the upper mid-range of heat, with ghost and scorpion peppers coming in much higher on the scale.