What are m. and m.'s made of?

The outer candy shell is made from sugar and corn syrup surrounding a filling which varies depending upon the variety of m and m's. The original candy has a semi-sweet chocolate filling which, upon introduction of other variations, was branded as the "plain, normal" variety.