Who is the statue on top of the u. s. capital?

The Statue of Freedom is on top of the US Capital Building. The statue depicts a female figure bearing a military helmet & holding a sheathed sword in her right hand and a laurel wreath and shield in her left. Although not actually called "Columbia", she shares many of her iconic characteristics.