Who played doctor kildare?

According to Wikipedia: Originally a pulp novel character, the most popular form of Dr. Kildare was the TV version, played by Richard Chamberlain. Before that, there were also film versions, played by Joel McCrea and Lew Ayres, and the radio version, who again was played by Ayres.