What is the procedure for an angiogram?

In an angiogram, a small amount of dye is injected through the catheter into the heart arteries. X-rays will look at your heart. The contrast dye will outline your arteries and show if there are any blockages. The x-ray camera also records a movie of your heart's pumping chamber and arteries.