What is the great chicago fire?

The Chicago Fire of 1871, also called the Great Chicago Fire, burned from October 8 to October 10, 1871, and destroyed thousands of buildings, killed an estimated 300 people, & caused an estimated $200 million in damages. Legend has it that a cow kicked over a lantern in a barn and started the fire.