What does it mean to be double jointed?

People who are double-jointed do not have extra joints in their bodies. They have the inherited condition hypermobility or hyperlaxity. Hypermobility is when a joint has a wider range of motion than usual. Hyperlaxity means that the ligaments that support your joints have more stretchiness.