Do guinea pigs purr?

Yes, guinea pigs purr, which may make your guinea pig seem more like a cat. These purrs can have different meanings. A deep, relaxed one means your guinea pig is content, while a higher pitched one is more likely a sound of annoyance. A shorter sounding, apprehensive purr may mean fear.

---

Purring is usually associated with being happy. You will most likely hear it when you are gently petting your pig. However, sometimes when they hear a startling noise or suddenly feel threatened, they will vocalize this same noise but in short spurts