How big is a hair?

Using a scanning electron microscope, Brian Ley reported in 1999 that the diameter of a human hair ranges between 17 μm to 181 μm; flaxen hair (yellowish-gray) is the thinnest with an average width of 17–50 µm, while black hair is the thickest with an average thickness of 56–181 µm.