What makes bananas ripen?

Bananas are a climacteric fruit, meaning that they continue ripening after they are picked. The ripening is induced by ethylene gas released by the fruit. Ripening can be accelerated by placing the fruit in a paper or plastic bag and sealing it to capture the gas.