What's the biggest fish ever caught in the united states?

According to Field & Stream, the World Record for the U.S. is a White Sturgeon weighing 468 pounds. This 9-foot-6-inch fish was estimated to be 100 years old, and is still considered the largest freshwater fish ever caught on a rod-and-reel in North America.