What is a titan from attack on titans?

Titans were a species of giant, man-eating humanoids that served as the catalyst for the events in the Attack on Titan series. They drove the humans into walled cities where they live protected from the Titans. What the humans don't know is that the Titans are all gone now & the world is safe again.