What is adaptive hiking?

Adaptive hiking trails are any hiking trails that have characteristics that allow individuals with a physical disability to enjoy them. These characteristics relate to grade, cross slope (sideways inclination of the surface), surface firmness, and any obstacles, such as rocks, roots, or steps.