How many kernels are in a corn cob?

On average, a modern ear of corn has 16 rows of kernels. Although the actual number of rows can vary, the number will always be even. The number of kernels on an ear can vary from 500 to 1,200. Genetics determine the number of ears that a single corn plant will grow.