How did bulldogs get their name?

The Bulldog was so-named because this type of dog was ideal for the English sport of bull baiting, which involved tethering a bull to a stake in the ground and encouraging dogs to try to bite the bull's nose.

---

Over the course of 350 years, until bull-baiting was banned in 1835, bulldogs were bred for aggression, and an 80-pound dog could easily bring down a bull weighing close to a ton by corkscrewing its own body around its neck, tossing the bull over its own center of gravity.