How did old faithful get it's name?

Old Faithful is the most famous of Yellowstone Parks 500 geysers. It was named in 1870 by the Washburn-Langford-Doane Expedition. During there stay, members of the expedition noted that it erupted at very regular intervals and decided to name it "Old Faithful". It continues to fascinate.