Why do boxers have their tails cut off?

Historically, tail docking was thought to prevent rabies, increase a dog's speed, and prevent injuries. For hunting and herding breeds, tails could collect burrs and foxtails, causing pain and infection. The longer tails of herding dogs could also be caught in gates behind livestock.