What was the first real housewives franchise?

The first series, The Real Housewives of Orange County, premiered on March 21, 2006; its success resulted in spin-off series located in New York City, Atlanta, New Jersey, D.C., Beverly Hills, Miami, Potomac, Dallas, and Salt Lake City.