Why did sydney newman create father's day?

Father's Day was the eighth episode of series 1 of Doctor Who. It introduced Rose's father, Pete, and established much of the back story for the Tyler family that would be used in future stories. This story hugely contributed to the show's most omnipresent topics: the consequences of time travel.