Who was the first person to make it to the north pole?

US Navy Engineer, Robert Peary, reached the Pole on April 6, 1909, accompanied by Matthew Henson, and four Inuit men, Ootah, Seeglo, Egingwah, and Ooqueah. Perry's claim has been disputed by some, who hold that the first person to actually stand at the pole was Sir Wally Herbert, on April 6 1969.