What is the purpose of cat herders day?

Cat Herders Day, observed every December 15, was created by Thomas and Ruth Roy from Wellcat.com and first observed in 2005. In their words, "If you can say that your job, or even your life, is like trying to herd cats, then this day is for you, with our sympathy."