Why is kitty hawk famous?

The city of Kitty Hawk, NC was the location of the Wright Brother’s first manned flight. Kitty Hawk was also the name of the Wright Brothers Flyer, used in the flight. It was the first plane to make a sustained, manned, flight on December 17, 1903.