What was the first animal in space?

Laika, a Russian dog is often touted as the first animal in space. At least she was the first to be publicized. It is thought that the Russians attempted to launch other animals earlier. Laika was the first animal commonly known to orbit the earth. She died in orbit.

---

Monkey