What is a evil spirit?

An evil spirit is a malevolent force, conjured from the deepest recesses of the human mind. Evil is impure selfish uncaring and unsympathetic thought and behavior. A spirit is a life force either on this plane or another. Put them together and you have an entity capable of committing atrocious acts.