What is hosen sauce?

Hoisin sauce is a thick, fragrant sauce commonly used in Cantonese cuisine as a meat glaze, an addition to stir fry, or as dipping sauce. It is dark-coloured, sweet and salty in taste. Although regional variants exist, hoisin sauce usually includes soybeans, fennel, red chili peppers, and garlic.