What is a straw dog?

Straw dogs, a figure of a dog made out of straw, were used as ceremonial objects in ancient China, but often thrown away after their usage. Many translations of Ch. 5 of the Tao Te Ching compare living beings to straw dogs. "Heaven and Earth are impartial; they treat all of creation as straw dogs".