Why is iodine added to salt?

Iodine is an essential element needed in the body to help create Thyroid Hormone. Thyroid hormone is very important in regulating our metabolic rate and many other bodily functions. The only way to acquire iodine is through diet and it is added to salt, as we add salt in most of our meals.