Does acrylic paint go bad?

Acrylic paint is a synthetic-based material so it can't “expire” like a piece of organic matter can. That being said, acrylics dry out very fast. An easy way to tell if gouache or acrylics have gone bad is to smell them. A sour or mildewy odor means they're old. Shelf life is generally 2-5 years.