Can you eat onions that are sprouting?

According to the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA), we should “reject cooking onions that have started to sprout or have soft or moist spots.” If you’re feeling disappointed by this news, it’s worth noting that most people who have tried sprouted onions have said they’re not too tasty.