What is the spruce goose?

The Spruce Goose was the giant seaplane built by Howard Hughes. Six times larger than any aircraft of its time, it is also known as the Hughes Flying Boat. It is made entirely of wood and flew just one time on November 2, 1947, in Long Beach. It is now at the Evergreen aviation and space museum.