What is considered comfort food?

Comfort food is food that provides a nostalgic or sentimental value to someone, and may be characterized by its high caloric nature, high carbohydrate level, or simple preparation. Examples, mashed potato, pizza, french fries, fried chicken, ice cream, chili, dumplings, peanut butter.