Are there lions in greece?

Lions have long since disappeared from Europe, according to reports by Ancient Greek writers such as Herodotus and Aristotle, they were common in Greece around 480 BCE. They became endangered around 300 BCE, and finally became extinct in Greece around 100 BCE