Who used to be the tallest person in the world?

Robert Wadlow was born February 22, 1918. He grew to eight feet 11.1 inches. He died July 15, 1940 at 1:30 a. m. as a result of a septic blister on his right ankle caused by a brace that had been poorly fitted.