What is in apple cider?

Apple cider is made from apples that are washed, cut and ground into an "apple mash" similar to applesauce. The mash is then wrapped in cloth and pressed into fresh juice. Cider is raw apple juice that has not undergone a filtration process to remove coarse particles of pulp or sediment.