How do you melt snow in minecraft?

Snow melts if there is a heat block,‌ [BE & EE only] or block light level of 12 or more. In Bedrock Edition, it also melts in dry biomes, regardless of block light or daylight level. If there are multiple layers, layers melt gradually in Bedrock Edition, but they melt all at once in Java