Why is the egg bowl called the egg bowl?

The Egg Bowl is the name given to the Mississippi State–Ole Miss football rivalry. The term “Egg Bowl” was said to be coined by The Clarion-Ledger newspaper in Jackson, MS when they printed the headline “Egg Bowl is Up For Scramble”.