Who is mayhem in the allstate commercials?

Dean Winters, who for years has played Mayhem, a whirlwind of chaos in Allstate insurance commercials, knows plenty about the unexpected that can befall a person in real life. In an interview published Sunday, Winters told Us Weekly that an infection left him dead for nearly five minutes in 2009.