Why do cats like to knock things down?

Your cat may knock things over simply because it's fun. ... Knocking objects over or off of shelves and tables may be a way for your cat to express his prey drive, explore his surroundings, and get your attention, but cat behaviorists agree that there could be other undiscovered reasons behind this.