Who is davy jones the pirate?

Davy Jones of "Davy Jones' Locker" fame could have been one of 2 people: David Jones, a real pirate living on the Indian Ocean in the 1630s or a British pub owner who supposedly threw drunken sailors into his ale locker and then gave them to be drafted on any ship.