What does bell dam mean?

A bell dam or spillway is a circular structure in a reservoir Unlike traditional dams, think of bell dams as similar to an overflow drain. When the water reaches the level of the lip of the bell dam, it flows into the funnel-shaped structure as long as water is above the lip of the dam.