What is it mean when a moon is waxing?

A waxing moon is any phase of the moon during the lunar cycle between the new moon and the full moon. A waxing moon is one, that is getting larger each night. The lunar cycle is a period of about 29 days, as the moon's shape seems to change from our vantage point on Earth.

---

In layman's terms, when the moon is getting bigger. More of the moon's surface is being exposed to sunlight over the course of about two weeks, this gives the illusion that it is growing larger.