What is salt water taffy made out of?

Salt water taffy is made out of sugar, like all candy! While there are various taffy-making formulas, the basic ingredients consist of sugar, corn syrup, cornstarch, salt, water (but not really salt water!), butter, glycerine, food coloring and natural or artificial flavors.