What's the active ingredients in benadryl?

The active ingredient In benadryl is an antihistamine called Diphenhydramine. Histamine is a hormone that releases In response to inflammation and stress. It causes itchiness alertness, insomnia and other immune responses. Antihistamines stop histamine from releasing in the body causing sedation.