Did a girl or a boy invent wi fi?

Dr. John O’Sullivan, an Australian electrical engineer, led the team that invented modern Wi-Fi in 1977. Interestingly, a famous American actress, Hedy Lamarr, conceived the idea of a frequency-hopping communications system - a principle technology in WiFi - for guiding torpedoes during WW2