What is the flash's origin story?

Britannica...In the Flash's origin story, student Jay Garrick is experimenting one night in the lab at Midwestern University when he is overcome by “hard water fumes” and passes out. Reawakening weeks later, he finds that he can move incredibly fast and is even able to pluck a bullet out of the air.