What are the southwest states?

The southwestern states are California, Nevada, Utah, Arizona, Colorado, and New Mexico.

---

The Southwestern Center for Herpetological Research defines the Southwest as being only the states of Arizona, New Mexico, with parts of California, Nevada, Texas, and Utah; although they include all of those six states in their map of the region, solely for ease of defining the border.