What's the history of the terrible towel?

The Terrible Towel was a gimmick Myron Cope, a broadcaster for the Pittsburgh Steelers, created to excite the fans during a 1975 playoff football game. A towel was chosen because it was small, portable, and something that just about every fan could own.