What is the difference between mold and mildew?

Mildew is a type of mold. However, there are some differences between what is called mold versus mildew. Mildew grows out flat and is usually white or grey, appearing powdery. Other types of mold are often raised and can grow vertically, can be red blue black or green, & appear slimy or fuzzy.