What's the purpose of an advent calendar?

An advent calendar helps people count down the days until Christmas. It starts on December 1 and goes to December 24 Christmas Eve. There is a little door for each night, and usually a little prize such as a piece of candy or a hot wheel for each night. Usually there is a better price on the 24th.